Hall of Fame

Rugby Ontario Hall of Fame 

Formed in 1999 to recognize, honour, and celebrate individuals for their outstanding achievements and contributions with Rugby Ontario and the Ontario rugby community, the Rugby Ontario Hall of Fame is housed online, and is accessible with a click of a mouse as part of the Rugby Ontario internet network.

To date, 63 individuals have been inducted into the Rugby Ontario Hall of Fame.

2015 Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Dinner

23 September, 2015


, ON) – Rugby Ontario is pleased to announce that tickets for the 2015 Rugby Ontario Hall of Fame & Awards Dinner are now on sale.

As announced earlier this September, four individuals and two teams have been selected for induction into the Rugby Ontario Hall of Fame as the Class of 2015.

Honoured by the Rugby Ontario Hall of Fame Selection Committee as the thirteenth group of enshrinees are David Harris, Bob Lipsett, Dave Lougheed, Tony McGann, the Markham Irish Canadians Rugby Club 1st XV (1962-1973), and the Ottawa Irish Rugby Club 1st XV (1986-1992).

The Class of 2015 will be honoured at the Rugby Ontario Hall of Fame & Awards Dinner in Mississauga, Ont., on the evening of Saturday, Nov. 14, 2015. The ceremony will be held at the Maple Banquet Hall, and will be held in conjunction with the Rugby Ontario Awards evening.

Tickets to the Rugby Ontario Hall of Fame & Awards Dinner are $90 each, or $800 for a ten-seat table. The deadline to purchase tickets to the event is Thursday, Nov. 5, 2015.

For more information regarding the purchasing of tickets, please refer to the Rugby Ontario Hall of Fame & Dinner Ticket Order Form. (click to download)

Rugby Ontario Hall of Fame & Awards Dinner (Nov. 14, 2015) - Evening Schedule:

6:00 p.m. - 7:30 p.m.  -Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony
7:30 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.  -Post-Ceremony Drinks
8:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.  -Hall of Fame & Awards Dinner

Rugby Ontario Hall of Fame, Class of 2015 - Fast Facts:

David Harris
- Founded Markham Rugby Football Club, serving as the club’s president on numerous occasions (1980-2006)
- After joining the teaching staff at Markham District High School in 1973, he established and developed rugby programs for young men and women at the school (1975-2003)
- Instrumental in reestablishing a men’s rugby program at the University of Waterloo (1966-1970)

Bob ‘Red’ Lipsett
- Amassed a 24-year playing career for Balmy Beach RFC (1957-1980)
- Captained Balmy Beach RFC to their first Carling Cup (1968)
- Established and developed a rugby program at Cedarbrae Collegiate Institute, where he coached for 35 years

Dave Lougheed
- Earned 34 caps for Canada in a national team career that spanned 14 years (1990-2003)
- Represented Canada at three Rugby World Cups (1995, 1999, 2003) and two Rugby World Cup Sevens (1993, 1997)
- Represented Ontario for 12 years, winning national championships in 1995 and 1996 (1987-1998)
- Played professionally for Leicester Tigers (1998-200) and Gloucester Rugby (2000)

Tony McGann
- Had a 11-year playing career with Toronto Welsh RFC (1980-1985) and Balmy Beach RFC (1986-1990), captaining both club sides
- Earned four McCormick Cup titles with Balmy Beach RFC (1986-1989) and an Ontario League title with Toronto Welsh RFC (1983)
- Represented Ontario for 10 years, winning a national championship in 1982 (1981-1990)
- Member of multiple Rugby Canada national touring sides, Canada Sevens sides, and Canada East sides (1982-1990)

Markham Irish Canadian Rugby Club 1st XV - 1962-1973
- This team, then known as the Irish Canadians, won six Ontario Cup titles (1965-1967, 1969-1971) and six Ontario League titles (1962-1963, 1968, 1971-1973) throughout their 12-year dynasty
- This side produced 23 players and coaches for provincial and national teams

Ottawa Irish Rugby Club 1st XV - 1986-1992
- This team won seven consecutive Ontario League titles (1986-1992), two McCormick Cup titles (1990-1991), and one Ontario Triple Crown (League, Cup, Sevens; 1991)
- During the 1986-92 period, members of Ottawa Irish who played for Canada or were selected for national squads included Al Charron, John Billingsley, Norm Carr, Mike Clarkin, Pierre Duey, Steve Grey and Karl Svoboda

Rugby Ontario Hall of Fame Inductees:


Paul Ambrose (2007)

George Jones (1999)

Ian Nicoll (2005)

Hedley Benyon (2006)

Ken Jones (2008)

George Pay (2000)

David Boswell (1999)

Kevin Jones (2007)

Allen Piggott (2013)

Simon Blackwell (2008)

Ron Jones (2001)

John Platts (2002)

John Brown (1999)

Trevor Jones (2013)

Tony Postlethwaite (2006)

Eamonn Browner (2001)

Vince Jones (1999)

John Reich (2013)

David Burnett (2013)

Helen Kaira (2006)

Dai Rhys-Jones (2000)

George Carson (2000)

Chris Krause (2000)

Hal Rowan (1999)

Al Charron (2006)

Bob Lipsett (2015)

John Russell (2001)

Brian Chatland (2008)

Dave Lougheed (2015)

Ken Smith (2002)

Bill Curtis (2004)

Bishop G. Marshall (1999)

Karl Svoboda (2014)

Norm Donaldson (1999)

Ian MacMillan (2014)

David Swift (2003)

Anthony Earl (2000)

Jim McCann (2005)

Glenn Tarver (2008)

Bob Elder (2004)

Vic McCormick (2001)

Heather Vesh (2005)

Denis Fletcher (2002)

Tony McGann (2015)

Natascha Wesch (2007)

Arthur Fowler (2000)

Bob McGeein (2008)

Phil White (2014)

Iain Greig (2008)

Rev. Fred Miller (1999)

Brian Williams (1999)

John Guilfoyle (2003)

Gina Minutillo (2003)

Mike Williams (2014)

David Harris (2015)

Ed Mitchell (2003)

Paul Wilson (2007)

Monty Heald (2004)

Malcolm ‘Mac’ Mitchell (2006)

Stan Woodburn (2001)

James Hugh (2001)

Ron Moss (2006)

Millar Young (2002)

Bob Illman (2007)

Larry Nancekivell (2002)

Murray Young (2004)

Robert Jenkins (2014)


Markham Irish Canadian Rugby Club 1st XV; 1962-1973 (2015)

Ottawa Irish Rugby Club 1st XV; 1986-1992 (2015)

Supplementary Documents:

Rugby Ontario Hall of Fame Guidelines

Rugby Ontario Hall of Fame Nomination Form - 2015

Rugby Ontario Hall of Fame & Dinner Ticket Order Form - 2015


© 2015 Rugby Ontario. All Rights Reserved. Powered by CanSport LIVE.
WordPress Tutorials
DNN Support