Latest News

7/14/2013

ONTARIO JR. BLUES FALL IN FINALS HEARTBREAKER; WIN SILVER AT 2013 VICTORIA INTERNATIONAL YOUTH SEVENS TOURNAMENT

With words from Ontario Jr. Blues U18 Sevens Head Coach Dan Kunanec.


CUP SEMI-FINAL RESULTS: Ontario 36 - 0 Utah

Ontario secured a spot in the Cup Final by winning a decisive victory over Utah with a score of 36-0.

Once again, Ontario continued to improve with every phase. This was a pure 7's performance. The control and team play by our boys kept Utah off of the scoresheet. It was an outstanding effort from all.

This win set up the Cup Final that Rugby Canada was hoping for - the classic rivalry - BC and Ontario.


Andrew Coe Brandon McLeod each had two tries, with Emilio Borggren and Gustavo Mozzato adding a try apiece, while Coe notched two converts to go along with Riley Di Nardo’s conversion.

CUP FINAL RESULTS: Ontario 17 - 22 BC Gold

The run for the Cup in Victoria came down to the dying seconds in an exciting and heartbreaking final for the Jr. Blues. Ontario exhibited their fighting spirit throughout the entire match. The experience of BC Gold showed throughout the match as the recently assembled upstarts from Ontario displayed their never-quit attitude time and time again.

Ontario struck early and showed the BC supporters that we were a team to be reckoned with. The BC squad displayed resolve and responded with two quick tries before the half. Both teams struggled with kicking skills after a four-hour delay between games, and all tries were not converted. BC led at the half.

The second half started with a quick BC score. The crowd reaction reflected their belief that the game was already decided and a BC victory was guaranteed. However, they were not aware of the resolve and commitment of these young men from Ontario.

The next few minutes were a display of the kind of effort and physicality that rugby players from Ontario are known for. The crowd and BC players were silenced as we tied up the game at the 9:21 mark of the 2nd half, directly under the uprights. As the BC players displayed the body language of exhaustion and impending defeat, all awaited a conversion attempt directly in front of the posts that would put Ontario in front in the final seconds.

As fate would have it, the attempt went wide. With time still remaining, BC took advantage of renewed life and of an Ontario squad with little left in the tank. BC crossed the line at the absolute corner at the 21-minute mark of a remarkable game.


Tries were scored by Tyler Hergott (2) and Emilio Borggren, while Andrew Coe chipped in with a conversion.

Descriptions of athletic pursuits are rife with clichés and platitudes. It is difficult to find original words to describe the extreme efforts and emotional exposure that our great athletes face. Make no mistake, these young men from Ontario experienced both in a fashion that should make us all proud. This is an incredibly fine group. Their efforts and skill are to be admired. Their future is bright.

Remember their names and watch their future unfold. Rugby Canada will be lucky to have them.

U18 Men's Division Tournament All Stars: 

BC Gold: Harjun Gill ©, Theo Sauder, Ollie Nott

Ontario: Brandon McLeod, Andrew Coe, Lucas Rumball 

BC Blue: Spencer Loughlin, Bubba Kucher

Utah: Tyler Johannson, Connor Perry

BC White: Cameron Hall

Washington: Wilson Vasukilakeba

Southern California: Christian Rodriguez 

 

Ontario Jr. Blues U18 7s Tournament Schedule:

Fri. July 12, 11:00am PDT/2:00pm EDT: BC Blue 5 vs. 28 Ontario
Fri. July 12, 12:05pm PDT/3:05pm EDT: Ontario 31 vs. 10 Southern California 2
Fri. July 12, 2:20pm PDT/5:20pm EDT: Ontario 59 vs. 5 Washington
Fri. July 12, 4:25pm PDT/7:25pm EDT: Ontario 26 vs. 12 Sherborne 1
*All Pool Matches held at Wallace Field.

Sat. July 13, 1:15pm PDT/4:15pm EDT: Ontario 36 vs. 0 Utah
Sat. July 13, 6:10pm PDT/9:10pm EST (Gold Match): BC Gold 22 vs. 17 Ontario
*All Cup Matches held at Centennial Stadium.
 

Ontario Jr. Blues U18 7s Roster: Name, (High School) Hometown

Gustavo Mozzato, (Barrie Central) Barrie, ON

Lucas Rumball, (Senator O’Connor) Scarborough, ON

Trenton Cooper, (Uxbridge Secondary) Zephyr, ON

Tyler Hergott, (St. Mary’s) Kitchener, ON

Michael Douros, (Senator O’Connor) Toronto, ON

John Shaw, (St. Peter) Ottawa, ON

Riley Di Nardo, (Newtonbrook Secondary) North York, ON

Emilio Borggren, (North Toronto CI) Toronto, ON

Kyle Lagasca, (Don Mills CI) North York, ON

Brandon McLeod, (St. Mary) Cobourg, ON

Andrew Coe, (Bill Crothers) Markham, ON

Matthew Courtney, (South Grenville Secondary) Brockville, ON

Team Staff 

Head Coach – Dan Kunanec

Assistant Coach / Team Manager – Paul Douros

Athletic Therapist – Dave Laurin

- 30 - 

.




© 2013 Rugby Ontario. All Rights Reserved. Powered by CanSport LIVE.