Latest News

7/22/2013

BLUES U19s EARN U19 CRC BRONZE; TAKE DOWN VOYAGEURS 53-3

 

The Ontario Blues U19s ensured they would be leaving Calgary on the podium after defeating the Voyageurs 53-3 on Sunday, claiming bronze at the 2013 U19 Canadian Rugby Championship.

Fighting through the disappointment of failing to qualify for the tournament’s gold medal match, the Blues put forth a spirited offensive and defensive performance against the Eastern Ontario-Quebec hybrid squad. 

The Blues scored early and often, jumping to a 24-3 lead at halftime. Ontario did not allow the Voyageurs to score a try, shutting out their opponents in the second half en route to a commanding 53-3 victory.

Ontario saw eight different players score tries on Sunday, with Mississauga, ON’s Kainoa Lloyd notching two – giving him four for the tournament.

Although Blues head coach Shaun Allen couldn’t hide his disappointment in not having a shot at the tournament title, he is still extremely proud of his squad.

“To miss out on the finals after losing two last-minute heartbreakers in the round-robin is a tough pill to swallow,” says Allen. “But the way we composed ourselves on the pitch in the bronze medal game gives us every reason to leave Calgary with our heads held high.”

“We showed strength both offensively and defensively, with our team playing an extremely well-rounded match,” added Allen. “We dictated the match on our terms. The future is bright for our guys.

For more information on the U19 CRC, visit www.canadianrugbychampionship.com.


Scoring Summary:

Ontario Blues – 53

Tries: Lloyd (2), Sears-Duru, Herron, Smith, Lorimer, Jones-Osborne, Norcross, Woodhead

Conversions: Lloyd (4)


Voyageurs – 3


Ontario Blues Lineup for July 21st U19 CRC match against Voyageurs:

1.         Djustice Sears-Duru

2.         Sawyer Herron

3.         Kevin Rush

4.         Max Van Dijk

5.         Matt Mullins

6.         Jason Valencia

7.         Matt Geisler

8.         Jack Smith

9.         Josh Boyles

10.       Jon Lorimer

11.       Benoit Jones-Osborne

12.       Jayden Norcross

13.       Chris Woodhead

14.       Kyle Spicer

15.       Kainoa Lloyd

16.       Chris Houston

17.       Paul Ciulini

18.       Jeremy Wright

19.       Carl Williams

20.       Glen Thomson-Bullock

21.       Graham Dobbs

22.       John Sheridan 


2013 Tournament Schedule - U19 Canadian Rugby Championship 


Wed. July 17th

11:00am MDT/1:00pm EDT - Prairie Wolf Pack 23 vs. 0 Voyageurs 

1:00pm MDT/3:00pm EDT - British Columbia 22 vs. 20 Ontario Blues 

Thurs. July 18th

11:00am MDT/1:00pm EDT - Voyageurs 12 vs. 43 British Columbia

1:00pm MDT/3:00pm EDT - Prairie Wolf Pack 25 vs. 22 Ontario Blues  

Sat. July 20th 

12:00pm MDT/2:00pm EDT - Ontario Blues 34 vs. 10 Voyageurs

2:00pm MDT/4:00pm EDT - British Columbia 33 vs. 15 Prairie Wolf Pack  

Playoff Rounds - Sun. July 21st 

11:00am MDT/1:00pm EDT - Ontario Blues 53 vs. 3 Voyageurs

1:00pm MDT/3:00pm EDT - British Columbia 15 vs. 13 Prairie Wolf Pack 


Ontario Blues U19 Roster: Name, (Club) Hometown

Forwards

Paul Ciulini, (Aurora Barbarians) Maple, ON

Matt Geisler, (Toronto Saracens) Toronto, ON

Sawyer Herron, (Oakville Crusaders) Oakville, ON

Chris Houston, (Toronto Scottish) Toronto, ON

Matt Mullins, (Belleville Bulldogs) Belleville, ON

Thomas Purdy, (Toronto Nomads) Toronto, ON

Kevin Rush, (Aurora Barbarians) Aurora, ON

Djustice Sears-Duru, (Oakville Crusaders) Oakville, ON

Jack Smith, (Peterborough Pagans) Peterborough, ON

*Andrew Thomson, (Ajax Wanderers) Pickering, ON (unable to play due to injury)

Jason Valencia, (Oakville Crusaders) Mississauga, ON

Max Van Dijk, (Oakville Crusaders) Oakville, ON

Carl Williams, (Peterborough Pagans) Cavan, ON

Jeremy Wright, (Lindsay RFC) Fenelon Falls, ON


Backs 


Josh Boyles, (Peterborough Pagans) Peterborough, ON

Graham Dobbs, (Oakville Crusaders) Toronto, ON

Benoit Jones-Osborne, (Barrie RFC) Orillia, ON

Kainoa Lloyd, (Mississauga Blues) Mississauga, ON

Jon Lorimer, (Toronto Nomads) Toronto, ON

Jayden Norcross, (Barrie RFC) Beeton, ON

John Sheridan, (Markham Irish) Bolton, ON

Jonah Simpson, (Oakville Crusaders) Toronto, ON

Kyle Spicer, (Aurora Barbarians) Aurora, ON

Glen Thomson-Bullock, (Toronto Nomads) Toronto, ON

Chris Woodhead, (Oakville Crusaders) Oakville, ON 


Ontario Blues U19 Team Staff
 

Head Coach – Shaun Allen

Assistant Coach – Jim Delaney

Manager – Fran Mason

Athletic Therapist – Kevin Clark

.




© 2013 Rugby Ontario. All Rights Reserved. Powered by CanSport LIVE.
WordPress Tutorial