Latest News

Brantford Harlequins celebrating after clinching the 2013 Marshall Provincial title.
Brantford Harlequins celebrating after clinching the 2013 Marshall Provincial title.


One year ago, Brantford Harlequins were a club in a downward spiral.

They had just been relegated to the Marshall Provincial division after a disastrous 2012 season that saw the club go 4-8-2 in the Premiership; a one-way ticket to Ontario’s second division.

But how quickly circumstances can change in just one year.

The Harlequins rose from the ashes with vim and vigour, going a perfect 14-0-0 in the 2013 Marshall Provincial division, ensuring their stay in rugby’s second tier would be a brief one. The club added a bonus point in all but one of their victories, amassing 69 total points throughout the season.

“The club is extremely proud of the accomplishments made by our senior men, going undefeated for the 2013 season,” said Brantford Harlequins club president Ken Courser. “Throughout the year, Dave Neill would select from all our registered players, and it truly was a complete club accomplishment.”

Throughout the season, Brantford's statistics backed up their on-field dominance: the Harlequins averaged 40 points a game, and outscored their opponents by an average of 23 points per match.

London St. George’s ended the season in second place for a second consecutive year, putting up a record of 11-3-0, and with 11 bonus points, accumulated 55 total points.

Oshawa Vikings claimed the third spot in the Provincial’s standings with a 10-4-0 record, while Peterborough Pagans rounded out the top half of the table after finishing the season 8-6-0.

Brampton Beavers posted an even 7-7-0 record on the year to claim fifth place.

Sixth place was earned by Barrie RFC (3-11-0), while Sarnia Saints (2-12-0) narrowly avoided the division’s relegation zone, finishing in seventh place.

Provincial newcomers Hamilton Hornets (1-13-0) struggled throughout the 2013 season, winning only one of their 14 matches en route to a last place finish. As a result, the Hornets will square off against Niagara Wasps and Lindsay RFC in the Intermediate Cup, as they fight to retain their spot in the 2014 Marshall Provincial division.

With the regular season now complete, Marshall Premiership and Provincial teams now turn their attention to the McCormick Cup, the title championship for Rugby Ontario’s senior men’s first teams. Round One of the Cup begins on Sept. 28th.

2013 Marshall Provincial Standings

1. Brantford Harlequins

2. London St. George’s

3. Oshawa Vikings

4. Peterborough Pagans

5. Brampton Beavers

6. Barrie RFC

7. Sarnia Saints

8. Hamilton Hornets

For complete Marshall Provincial division standings, click here.


© 2017 Rugby Ontario. All Rights Reserved. Powered by CanSport LIVE.

WordPress Tutorials
DNN Support