Blues U19 Men: Short-list roster announced for 2017 season

June 26, 2017


Head Coach Mike Curran has announced the 2017 short-list roster for the Under-19 Blues Men’s program. The Ontario Blues Under-19 development program is the high performance representative program for under-19 age-grade male rugby players in Ontario. It is designed to develop and showcase young male athletes for Rugby Canada National U20 teams.

The U19 team represents Ontario in the annual U19 Canadian Rugby Championships. Last year, the U19 Blues placed second at the Canadian Rugby Championships. 

This year's team was selected from a group of more than 80 athletes. They will kick things off with a weekend series with the High School All Americans East squad. The series will be played at the University of Guelph's Varsity Field. Game 1 of the series is at 7:00pm EDT on June 29 and Game 2 is at 1:00pm EDT on July 1.

Ontario Blues U19 Men – 2017 Roster

Name (School/Club)

Nick Martino (St. Joan of Arc SS / Barrie RFC)

Jack McRodgers (McMaster University / Aurora Barbarians RFC)

Emerson Prior (Trent University / Kingston Panthers RFC)

Connor Labbett (Bishops University / Toronto Saracens RFC

Alton Howard (Fanshawe College / London St. Georges RFC

Jeremy Gamm (Wilfrid Laurier University / Markham Irish RFC)

Aidan Foley (Western University / Crusaders RFC)

Adam Beaupre (KCVI / Waterloo County RFC)

Reece Honey (Fleming College / Peterborough Pagans RFC)

Owain Ruttan (University of British Columbia / Cobourg Saxons RFC)

Callum Tam (Oakville Trafalgar HS / Crusaders RFC)

Henry Stevenson (Royal St. George's College / Toronto Nomads RFC)

Evan Whiteford (LCVI / Lindsay Griffins RFC)

Michael Nwabufo (McGill University / Bytown Blues RFC)

Andrew Wilson (Erindale SS / Crusaders RFC)

Josh Engelbrecht (Oakville Trafalgar HS / Crusaders RFC)

Carter Bondy (Eden HS / Niagara Wasps RFC)

Puwayi Chinoda (University of Manitoba / Oshawa Vikings RFC)

Kevin Perera (McMaster University / Crusaders RFC)

Josh Andrews (Regiopolis Notre Dame / Kingston Panthers RFC)

Miguel-Fabian Palij (Pierre Elliott Trudeau SS / Markham Irish RFC)

Ethan Hager (Brantford Harlequins RFC)

Gabe Casey (Napean HS / Bytown Blues RFC)

James Hammond (Toronto Nomads RFC)

Non-travelling reserves

Graeme Francolini (University of Guelph / Burlington Centaurs RFC)

Talen de St. Croix (BCI / Brantford Harlequins RFC)


Mike Curran - Head Coach

Sean McDonaugh - Assistant Coach

Jim Delaney - Assistant Coach

Nick Manz - Manager

Blake Barry - Athletic Therapist


Rugby Ontario is the provincial sports governing body responsible for the organization of rugby in Ontario. Our mission is to establish a stronger identity for rugby in Ontario by promoting the sport’s core values and by fostering a culture of inclusiveness and excellence on and off the field of play.

To learn more, visit


Kevin Baxter

Communications Coordinator - Rugby Ontario

647-560-4790 x 106


© 2022 Rugby Ontario. All Rights Reserved. Powered by SportLomo