Blues Sr. Men: Ontario defeats Old Blue to open 2017 schedule

April 29, 2017


(Randall's Island, NY) - The Ontario Blues Senior Men's side defeated NY Old Blue RFC 34 - 31 on a hot spring day in New York City. The thermometer hit 29 degrees Celsius pitch-side, which became a definite factor late in the game.

In a hard hitting match-up, the Blues ran out to a strong and confident start against the Old Blue. In the first half, the Ontario backfield was too much for New York, as Andrew Ferguson (Crusaders) ran in three times and Kainoa Lloyd (Mississauga) scored twice. Ferguson also provided one conversion for the Ontario men. Blues held a healthy 27-10 lead at half time.

The second half was a completely different story, as Old Blue came out flying in the final frame. The Blues took two yellow cards in the half, allowing Old Blue back in the game. A dominant performance highlighted by a 40-meter dash from Mike St. Claire put the New York side up 31-27 late in the contest.

When the comeback was looking ever-so complete, Rory McDonnell (Brantford) played spoiler for the Blues, running in a try in the last three minutes of the match. Shawn Windsor (Stoney Creek) converted, putting the Blues up 34-31. That was all the Blues needed, as they exited the match with a close victory over the American Rugby Premiership side.

The Blues will face the Pacific Rugby Premiership's Glendale Raptors in their next contest on May 20, 2017 in Burlington. Tickets are available at the gate or by contacting VIP and group rates are available. 

Ontario Blues Roster vs. Old Blue RFC (April 29,2017)

  1.      Rob Brouwer
  2.      Andrew Quattrin
  3.      Ryan Surgenor 
  4.      Hank McQueen
  5.      Mike Sheppard
  6.      Lucas Rumball
  7.      Peter Milazzo
  8.      Andrew Wilson
  9.      Andrew Ferguson
  10.      Shawn Windsor
  11.      Kainoa Loyd
  12.      Kyle Knight
  13.      Mitch Richardson
  14.      Jon West
  15.      Rory McDonnell
  16.      Cameron Sandison
  17.      Pat Lynott
  18.      Tom Dolezel (unavailable due to injury)
  19.      Paul Ciulini
  20.      Seb Pearson
  21.      Josh Campbell
  22.      John Sheridan
  23.      Mario Van der Weshtuizen


Rugby Ontario is the provincial sports governing body responsible for the organization of rugby in Ontario. Our mission is to establish a stronger identity for rugby in Ontario by promoting the sport’s core values and by fostering a culture of inclusiveness and excellence on and off the field of play.

To learn more, visit


Kevin Baxter

Communications Coordinator - Rugby Ontario

647-560-4790 x 106