2022 Marshall League Preview

May 03, 2022


2022 Marshall League Preview


May 3rd, 2022

(WHITBY, ON) -  The top Senior Men’s Rugby league in Ontario is back! Rugby Ontario is pleased to announce the schedule and league structure for the 2022 Marshall League. 2022 marks the return of the full Marshall league after a two-year layoff due to the COVID-19 pandemic. In the fall of 2021, 11 of the Marshall teams competed in a modified season. Divided into 2 regions the round robin competition ended with a series of crossover games between like-ranked teams in each region. After going undefeated versus Conference B in the round robin, Balmy Beach took down the previously undefeated Oshawa Vikings (Conference A) to win the Fall Marshall Competition.

“Rugby Ontario is pleased to announce the return of the senior men’s Marshall League for 2022,” said Myles Spencer, Rugby Ontario CEO.  “It has been three years since the kickoff of the last full Marshall League competition. While the COVID-19 pandemic was the cause of this delay, we were reminded last fall in a truncated season just how important club rugby, our leagues and competitions are to the growth of our game and the future of our community.”

The 2022 Marshall League will consist of 16 clubs, divided into two conferences. Within each conference, the teams have been placed into two regional divisions of four.

Conference A

North: Aurora Barbarians, Barrie RFC, Markham Irish, Toronto Scottish.

East: Ajax Wanderers, Balmy Beach, Oshawa Vikings Peterborough Pagans.

Conference B

South: Burlington Centaurs, Crusaders RFC, Toronto Nomads, Vaughan Yeoman.

West: Brantford Harlequins, Guelph Redcoats, London St. George, Waterloo County. 

The league will open the regular season on May 14th and run for ten rounds.

Each club will field a 1st and 2nd side. The 1st XV for each club will compete in the Marshall 1st League and the 2nd XV will compete in the Marshall 2nd League. Each league will crown a league champion. The Marshall League playoffs will begin on August 13th. The results will determine the seeding for the McCormick Cup and Fall Cup.

Both the 1st and 2nd team competition points will be counted equally towards a Club Championship. The winner will be based on total 1st XV and 2nd XV points.  All 10 rounds of regular season play and 2 playoff weeks will be counted.

The McCormick Cup Playoffs will feature the top seven Marshall teams and the top men’s team from the EORU. The Fall Cup will run simultaneously and will feature the next 7 Marshall teams with EORU 2 being invited to round out the bracket. The Cups will begin with Round One on September 10th. The finals will be played at Fletcher’s Fields on October 1st, 2022 as part of McCormick Cup Day.

“After a regional restructuring taking place at the end of 2019, and the effects of the pandemic I’m thrilled to see clubs gearing up for the Marshall League competition again,” said Rugby Ontario's Manager, Competitions & Events, Mark Kellington.

To view the full Marshall schedule click here. Stay tuned to the Rugby Ontario social media channels to see weekly schedules and league updates. For more information on Senior Leagues, please contact Mark Kellington at mkellington@rugbyontario.com.


Rugby Ontario is the provincial sports governing body responsible for the organization of rugby in Ontario. Our mission is to lead, support and promote Rugby for All from communities to clubs to province. This mission signals a movement toward creating a more cohesive, supportive and progressive sporting environment that is responsive to the needs of all members.

To learn more, visit https://www.rugbyontario.com/


Mark Kellington

Competitions and Events Manager - Rugby Ontario


Dalton Finkbeiner

Communications and Marketing Coordinator - Rugby Ontario



© 2022 Rugby Ontario. All Rights Reserved. Powered by SportLomo