Canada’s Women’s Rugby World Cup squad named for New Zealand

August 31, 2022


Canada’s Women’s Rugby World Cup squad named for New Zealand

August 31, 2022 (Langford, BC) – Rugby Canada today announced the 32-player Senior Women’s 15s squad that will represent Canada at the Rugby World Cup 2021, being played in 2022, in New Zealand.

Seeded No. 3 for the World Cup, Canada’s Women - whose official team partner is NFP - will compete in Pool B alongside the USA, Italy and Japan. Their first match will be against Japan at the Northland Events Centre in Whangarei on Sunday, October 9 at 3:15 p.m. local time. Click here for the full Pool B schedule.

Head Coach Kevin Rouet’s 32-player squad features a mix of experience and young talent. Captaining the side in New Zealand, Sophie de Goede – daughter of former captains of Canada’s Women’s and Men’s teams, Stephanie White and Hans de Goede – will compete at the first Rugby World Cup of her career.

She will be joined by the likes of Olivia DeMerchant, Brianna Miller, Laura Russell, Tyson Beukeboom, Karen Paquin, Elissa Alarie, Brittany Kassil, DaLeaka Menin and Alexandra Tessier, all of whom have represented Canada in at least one previous Rugby World Cup.

“I’m proud to have confirmed the squad that will be heading to the Rugby World Cup,” Rouet commented. “It was a very tough selection process, and all of the players made it very difficult to narrow our squad down to a group of 32.”

He added: “All of them have been so dedicated and put in so much hard work to get to this point. However, the real hard work starts now as we head to New Zealand with a desire and belief that we can compete for the Rugby World Cup trophy, the first in Canada’s history.”

Tied with her sister, Kelly Russell, as the third most-capped Canadian Women of all time, Laura Russell will overtake Maria Gallo at No. 2 on that list with three more appearances. Meanwhile, DeMerchant and Beukeboom are set to break to 50-cap mark with their next selections.

Canada head to the World Cup on the back of consecutive wins in home international test matches - 32-24 over Italy at Starlight Stadium in Langford, BC and 31-3 over Wales at the Wanderers Grounds in Halifax, NS – which marked the program’s first games in Canada since 2015.


Alexandra Tessier (Sainte-Clotilde-de-Horton, QC) – Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue RFC

Alex Ellis (Ottawa, ON) – Barrhaven Scottish / Saracens

Alysha Corrigan (Charlottetown, PEI) – CRFC / Saracens

Anaїs Holly (Montreal, QC) – Town of Mont-Royal RFC

Brianna Miller (Pointe-Claire, QC) – Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue RFC

Brittany Kassil (Guelph, ON) – Guelph Redcoats

Courtney Holtkamp (Rimbey, AB) – Red Deer Titans

DaLeaka Menin (Vulcan, AB) – Calgary Hornets / Exeter Chiefs

Elissa Alarie (Trois-Rivieres, QC) – Westshore RFC

Emily Tuttosi (Souris, MB) – Calgary Hornets / Exeter Chiefs

Emma Taylor (Scotsburn, NS) – HRFC

Fabiola Forteza (Quebec City, QC) – Club de rugby de Québec

Gabrielle Senft (Regina, SK) – Castaway Wanderers / Exeter Chiefs / Regina Rogues Rugby Club

Gillian Boag (Calgary, AB) – Capilano RFC

Julia Schell (Uxbridge, ON) – Guelph Redcoats / Castaway Wanderers

Justine Pelletier (Riviere-du-Loup, QC) – Club de rugby de Québec

Karen Paquin (Quebec City, QC) – Club de rugby de Québec / Les Lionnes du Stade Bordelais

Laura Russell (Bolton, ON) – Cowichan RFC / Toronto Nomads

Maddy Grant (Cornwall, ON) – University of Ottawa

Marie Thibault (Quebec City, QC) – Club de rugby de Québec

McKinley Hunt (King City, ON) – Aurora Barbarians / Exeter Chiefs

Mikiela Nelson (North Vancouver, BC) – UBC Rugby / Capilano Rugby

Ngalula Fuamba (Notre Dame de-l'ile-Perrot, QC) - T.M.R.R.F.C.

Olivia DeMerchant (Mapledale, NB) – Halifax Tars RFC

Paige Farries (Red Deer, AB) – Worcester Warriors

Sabrina Poulin (St-Georges, QC) – TMRRFC

Sara Kaljuvee (Ajax, ON) – Toronto Scottish

Sara Svoboda (Belleville, ON) – Brantford Harlequins / Belleville Bulldogs / Loughborough Lightning

Sarah-Maude Lachance (Victoriaville, QC) - Club de Rugby de Québec/Lons Section Paloise Rugby Feminin

Sophie de Goede (Victoria, BC) – Castaway Wanderers RFC

Taylor Perry (Oakville, ON) – Oakville Crusaders

Tyson Beukeboom (Uxbridge, ON) – Cowichan RFC


Maya Montiel (Dieppe, NB) – University of Ottawa

Cindy Nelles (Belleville, ON) – Belleville Bulldogs / University of Canterbury

Abby Duguid (Edmonton, AB) – University of Lethbridge / Loughborough Lightning

Laetitia Royer (Loretteville, QC) – St-Anne-de-Bellevue / Lons Section Paloise

Janna Slevinsky (St. Albert, AB) – Calgary Saracens

Pamphinette Buisa (Gatineau, QC) – Ottawa Irish

Renee Gonzalez (Toronto, ON) – Westshore RFC

Chloe Daniels (Sutton, ON) – Aurora Barbarians


Rugby Canada is the national governing body of the sport of Rugby Union in Canada. They administer and operate Men’s and Women’s Senior and Junior National programs in both rugby 15s and 7s, as well as govern the Club and community game for more than 30,000 registered participants from coast to coast in conjunction with ten Provincial Union members.

Rugby Canada is headquartered at the Al Charron National Training Centre in Langford, BC, residing on the unceded territories of the Coast Salish and Lekwungen/Songhees peoples, with staff also working from Vancouver, Toronto and Ottawa. Rugby Canada business operations, programs and events are delivered nationwide, including the internationally recognized HSBC Canada Sevens annual tournaments.


Rugby Ontario is the provincial sports governing body responsible for the organization of rugby in Ontario. Our mission is to lead, support and promote Rugby for All from communities to clubs to province. This mission signals a movement toward creating a more cohesive, supportive and progressive sporting environment that is responsive to the needs of all members.

To learn more, visit



© 2022 Rugby Ontario. All Rights Reserved. Powered by SportLomo